Hashi Corps Packer… and my QEMU snafu

How cool is Hashi Corps Packer product? I think it is pretty sweet. I primarily work with fedora and RHEL via Qemu, but it is neat that it can use one configuration file to apply the same settings to each platform if I wanted.

Anyways, a colleague brought this up to my attention last week and I thought as I’m going through the install for OpenShift v3, I might as well create a reusable configuration file for each system. And here we are 🙂 .

I wanted to bring this issue I was facing to light in case you’re like me and don’t like to do anything on your host machine, but rather spin something up in a VM server. I was hitting this issue.

2015/11/02 15:52:16 packer-builder-qemu: 2015/11/02 15:52:16 Qemu stderr: Could not initialize SDL(x11 not available) - exiting
2015/11/02 15:52:16 ui error: ==> qemu: Error launching VM: Qemu failed to start. Please run with logs to get more info.
==> qemu: Error launching VM: Qemu failed to start. Please run with logs to get more info.

What does the error ^^^^ mean? When Packer tries to start up Qemu, it tries to spin up a graphic image and since my server is headless I was getting the error above.  How to fix?

"builders": [{
//
//
     "qemuargs": [
        [ "-m", "4444M" ],
        [ "-nographic", "" ]
      ],
//
//
}]

Simply add the code ^^^ to your JSON file and everything will start swimmingly..

IHTH

Author: jasonmarley

I have been with Red Hat since 2010 and love it! My day to day is consulting on RHEL/JBoss/OpenShift, but I work on open source projects in my free time. The best part about my job are my awesome colleagues and our community.

1 thought on “Hashi Corps Packer… and my QEMU snafu”

Leave a Reply

